What did I do for fun yesterday, you ask? Well, I sent a heated e-mail to Rep. Jim Costa that he will probably never read. Yes, I am a nerd... but, I am a pissed off nerd.
----------------------------------------------------
Mr. Jim Costa
I found it very disconcerting and, quite frankly, was appalled when I heard of your vote on the recent "Bankruptcy Bill". By supporting a bill championed by credit card companies, neo-conservatives, large corporations, and numerous other dubious entities, your vote, in no way, represented the best interests of your hard-working constituents.
As a lifelong democrat that votes in every election, I was very proud to vote for you this past November. However, I will no longer be able to support you in future candidacies. Reaching this conclusion after one vote may seem extreme, however, this was a landmark bill of great importance which will have a long-lasting (perhaps permanent) negative effect on working Americans. It is now quite evident where your loyalties reside. I will inform everyone that I know of your vote and will urge them to not vote for you when you seek re-election.
Sincerely,
RBJ
p.s. In the future, I suggest that you take some cues from house members like Maxine Waters (or even our very own Senator Boxer) and exhibit some courage and integrity.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I suppose I could have written a better, more eloquent e-mail but I just wanted to hurry and send off a message to him. It was a one-shot thing. no editing or revisions... like most of the posts in this blog.
I really do mean what I said about not voting for him again. Let's not get crazy now either, I certainly won't be voting for the republican candidate.. I'm thinking I'll vote Green or just leave that part of the ballot blank.
