Wednesday, March 31, 2004

Don't Do It!!!

don't drink the fluoridated water man! I always have found it kind of odd that there is a warning on toothpaste labels against product ingestion yet they pump fluoride into the water that most Americans drink on a daily basis. hmmm. By The Way, Fresno happens to be one of the cities in California that participates in mass fluoridation.

Air America

Lord, I hope this shit works and is able to really get off the ground

Air America Radio

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT Janeane Garofalo DAMMIT!!!

Tuesday, March 30, 2004

The Rasberry Reich

BRUCE LABRUCE



It is not only our fate but our business to lose innocence, and once we have lost that, it is futile to attempt a picnic in Eden.

-Elizabeth Bowden


Monday, March 29, 2004

Rudy!!!

hey, I'm not the only one that has made this observation.

check out this fleshbot entry

might as well check this out, as well as this while you're at it-- just a little snaphot in Courtney's recent rampage

** thanks to fleshbot for all of the links in this post

Sunday, March 28, 2004

Three Political Females I Especially Love



Nancy Pelosi


Maxine Waters


Arianna Huffington

Friday, March 26, 2004

Gary Jules and the group rules

I need to make something clear-- I drop names all the time and I have no shame in it.... none at all. I still manage to, on a daily basis it seems, mention the fact that I once met J.T. LeRoy at the Viper Room. See, I did it again.

So, anyhow, I took a Mark Twain seminar with Gary Jules (I was hardly ever there of course) when I went to school in. L.A.-- at around the same time that his cover of "Mad World" made it into the film "Donnie Darko"

Let's see what I can remember about him... His last name was Aguirre and he had returned to school some ten years after having initially failed out. He ended up graduating in Fall 2001. Hmmm.... Alls I can really remember is that he seemed like a really nice guy and he had some of the best tattoos I have seen to date... especially this really interesting tattoo of a star centered around his elbow. I was always staring at it. Oh, and he brought his first album, which was released independently, into class once and the professor passed it around 'cause the cover photo made some kind of allusion to Huck Finn or something. Oh, and one time I peed in the stall next to where I think he was pooping. My conversion to using bathroom stalls to pee in instead of just using the urinals is a whole story in itself.

Anyhow, I was thrilled to hear that Michel Gondry directed his video for the American release of "Mad World"--His song made it to #1 in England--. Michel Gondry is the brilliant mind behind the really cool Bjork videos, a couple of The White Stripes videos, and the new film "Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind". I can't wait to see it!!!

The Nerve Interview: Michel Gondry

Thursday, March 25, 2004

click that shit...

Clickback America-- Reject George Bush’s Credit

No-Fi "Radio" Session/Lick it good, suck this p***y just like you should



remember that once ubiquitous song of a couple years back that went something like "my neck, my back, lick my p***y and my crack..."? Well, if you listen to Episode 111- "Filthiest F**king Episode of No-Fi 'Radio' Ever!!!!" (click on the pic n-words) they start the show off with that song set to what I'm pretty sure is the theme music to "I Dream of Jeannie". Pure Beauty.

Oh!-- and they end the show with a half hour live set from Gravy Train!!!! recorded at the Echo in Silverlake, CA.

Gravy Train!!!! Interview

** thanks to the Gravy Train!!!! website and Quin for the link.

Also...

I remember reading in the paper a few years ago about how the majority of White Americans think that African Americans, as a whole, are just as well off as they are. Incredible. I think that those that are under this assumption must have missed the memo that pointed out that, in searching for a job, a white male with a drug conviction is more likely to get a 2nd interview than a black or latino male (who is equally qualified for the same position) that has a clean record... among numerous other studies

This new study from the National Urban League didn't come as a surprise to me but it does underlie the fact that we still need Affirmative Action...

Also, Oakland's reaction to the report

**oh, and here is the actual press release from the National Urban League

legally perpetuating slavery?

I'm re-reading the Autobiography Of Assata Shakur at the moment (the first time was for an African American Literature class and I skimmed that shit just enough to be ready for an exam) and Assata makes an interesting point. If you take a look at the 13th amendment to the constitution, you'll find that it says:

'Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.'

Needless to say, I was pretty shocked to find out that slavery is, indeed, still legal in our country... it's just been shifted to the prison system. After reading this amendment, I couldn't help but notice how 'coincidental' it seems that prisons are disproportionately populated with black and 'third world peoples' as Assata puts it. If every state had to pay workers to do the jobs that prisoners are pretty much forced to do for 'slave wages', the salaries would amount to billions.
When Jimmy Carter was the governor of Georgia, 'he brought a black woman from prison to clean the statehouse and babysit for Amy'--- I remember learning that this was Alice Walker's inspiration for the character of Sofia in The Color Purple, by the way. Anyhow, Assata Shakur goes on to say that prisons are a way of legally perpetuating slavery and genocide and that new prisons certainly aren't being built with the idea that they will be populated by white people.

My take on it... to be honest, I'm still a bit ambivalent about the whole thing but it sure is growing increasingly hard for me to just chalk it all up to 'coincidence'.

Monday, March 22, 2004

And Now, I Introduce To You...

IVY QUEEN


Profile
birthname: Martha Ivelisse Pesante
d.o.b. March 4, 1972
representin': Puerto Rico
title: Queen Of Reggaeton
aliases: Ivy Queen, La Queena, La Diva, La Abusadora, La Potra, La Perra, La Reina Del Reggaeton, among others

Who's just as gangsta as Lil' Kim be? That's right, Ivy Queen. In fact, in many ways, she is the spanish speaking counterpart to Lil' Kim. The content of her songs aren't nearly so focused on sex as Lil' Kim's but she still has a filthy mouth. Like Lil' Kim, she has conquered a male-dominated musical genre. That genre being "Reggaeton" which is Spanish Rap that is a lot like dancehall but with more of a latin flavor.

Ivy Queen is one of the first acts that made me take rap, in a language other than english, seriously. I had given french, german, and spanish rap chances before but they all had a kind of cartoonish quality to them. Being that Rap is an inherently American genre--- seeing as how it originated here and all, it has taken some time for those in other countries to catch up. Ivy Queen has done just that and more. She writes all of her own shit and co-executive-produced her latest album. The production is top-notch.

go ahead and familiarize yourself with La Diva. look closely and you'll even see a customer review by yours truly

**gossip gossip-- a few years ago Ivy Queen and Wyclef Jean collaborated on a song together called "In The Zone". Apparently, that's not the only thing they collaborated on. Rumor has it that they had a bit of a fling
A Message From...

Tammy Faye Messner


man, am I the only one that is really bummed about Tammy Faye's recent announcement that she has lung cancer? I really dig this broad. I've done some research into the whole PTL scandal thing and it's obvious that she wasn't involved in any way. She just fell victim to that whole "stand by my man" position that many women seem to take. She certainly has flaws but we all do.

Opinions on Tammy Faye are quite diverse and can be quite negative. And, there is, of course, that running joke about her make-up-- which I think that I found funny once when I was 10 (I just never really understood how people can make such a big deal about it when she is obviously comfortable and happy with the way she looks and does her make-up, ya know?). I, on the other hand, happen to think that she is a remarkable women. She has love for everyone and really seems to follow her religion's tenet of non-judgment. That certainly is not something that can be said about the vast majority of her peers on the religious right.

Back when the discovery of AIDS was announced to the public, a mass hysteria ensued-- of course. This was a time when many people didn't want to be within a mile-radius of an afflicted person for fear of "catching" it. Many also held very specific ideas about what kind of person would contract this disease. At the height of the AIDS hysteria, Tammy Faye, in a very brave and bold move, addressed the issue on her PTL show (whose audience was extremely conservative, by the way) by having AIDS sufferers on and touching and hugging them and, essentially, incriminating the audience for showing disdain, disgust, and fear for these people instead of compassion.

You are a good woman Tammy Faye Messner and I know you can beat this thing!


----Also, please go to the following site (on a regular basis if you can) to help fund free mammograms for women in need. It costs you nothing... just the time it takes to click on a button.
The Breast Cancer Site

Rudy is all growed up now...

has anyone seen the latest Chingy video for "One Call Away?". Well, the other Rudy--- Rudy Huxtable (aka Keshia Knight Pulliam) is the "video girl" in it and she is lookin' hella, hella fine. Don't believe me?... you can go ahead and check out the full-length video here...for the time-being at least

Saturday, March 20, 2004

I always knew they were crazy...

for those of you out there that still haven't seen this study that was published by the A.P.A. last year

Political Conservatism As Motivated Social Cognition


Friday, March 19, 2004

ATTENTION LITERAL READERS OF THE BIBLE...


you sure are some dumb fucks. Even more preposterous than a literal reading of the bible are the people that claim that this is actually the approach that they take in reading the holiest of books. I have never come across a person that genuinely reads the bible literally 100% of the time... even if they claim to... not even Pat Robertson himself folks. The truth is that most on the religious right will conveniently pick and choose which areas/subjects that they want to interpret in order to buttress pre-existing beliefs or so that things don't get too uncomfortable for them.

It's simply egregious to think that this ancient text can mean the exact same thing now that it did so long ago. Therefore, I think it is incumbent upon you to interpret away. "Interpretation" simply means getting the meaning out of the text, right? An historical-critical approach to interpreting the bible is a must...

case in point-- let us look at Jesus' Teaching about Simplicity

In three of the Gospels (Matthew 19:24, Mark 10:25, and Luke 18:25) Jesus says

"It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the kingdom of God"

If you are a literal reader of the bible, it is required that you believe that, without holy intervention, rich people are essentially barred from entering the kingdom of God--- 'cause there sure ain't no way a camel can fit through the eye of a needle now, can it?

However, a different interpretation arises when we look at this quotation in an historical context. When this was written, there was a very low and narrow entrance gate through the city wall of Jerusalem known as "the eye of the needle". When caravans entered the city, the camels would have to be unloaded, led through the gate crouching down and then reloaded on the other side.

With this tiny bit of information, any reasonable person will deduce that what Jesus is actually saying is that one must strip him/herself of the attitude that worldly possessions constitute the greatest good and highest value in life before they can enter the kingdom of GOD--one must first unload their material concerns--. I don't know about y'all but this historical-critical interpretation sure sounds more plausible to me.

So, in conclusion, you literal readers of the bible can go fuck yourselves you feeble minded fucks.

No such thing as global warming, huh?



read this nasa article

Thursday, March 18, 2004

Apparently Fresno Rocks...


Believe it or not, Fresno has made a list that doesn't begin with the word "Worst"

--courtesy of Esquire Magazine and The Fresno Bee
Lest Anyone Think...

that women will be the only gender objectified in this weblog.....

Simon Rex - solo hardcore images (EXPLICIT)

I imagine that these vid caps are from a video that was filmed during tougher, "harder" times.... I assume

Wednesday, March 17, 2004

Lil' Kim the first rap-bitch to shake up the charts...

"She is a sexually voracious dominatrix who demands shopping sprees all day and orgasms all night. No one has ever made it so cool to be a bitch."--Rolling Stone-May 13, 1999

"and you act like I ain't the leader of this million bitch march...
I started this shit. How soon we forget I'm the heart of this shit...
I'm the reason this rap game is unisex..."

so true babygirl

seeing as how Lil' Kim has kind of become an obsession to me and how I've been into this woman and her music since '96... I think that it is only appropriate that Lil' Kim be the subject of my first "official" post. The QB is an extremely talented BadAss that was able to push her way to the forefront of a hyper-masculine, male dominated musical genre.... and she just happens to be filthy. Tough chicks are hot. Crazy ones too.

And now.... the QueenBitch's "bushy". Having "examined" the photos, I'm thinking that "bushy" may be a misnomer.
 

the pastoral photo in the sidebar was taken by noneother than the sexy Caedmon (he's a one-namer--- like Liberace) of Portland, OR. Thanks Kaydmun!