Monday, November 29, 2004

My Man, Jesse J

In the past, I have had some "differences" with Jesse Jackson but for the most part I think that he is incredibly important and, boy, did he give a great speech in Ohio.

I'm increasingly starting to think that "they" may have succeeded in their attempts to suppress the vote but a recount is still very, very necessary... and plus, a boy can still hope and daydream, right?

Thursday, November 18, 2004

I'm sure that This is probably just an anomaly/coincidence, right?

Tuesday, November 16, 2004

Jigga What?

How can someone who was completely incompetent in her last position be promoted to Secretary Of State? I mean, I am not naive-- I know that this was predicted and that she's really chummy with the bush family and that this administration is evil and that the world is going to hell, etc, etc, etc.. but... how?

Thursday, November 11, 2004

Happy Birthday Caedmon!

Wednesday, November 10, 2004

One More Thing On The Election...


I Blame White People. I am not even sure that I entirely believe this statement but, in life, I have learned that, when in doubt, it is always good to blame those of the "Caucasian persuasion". All of my personal problems-- the white man's fault. Societal Ills, you say? Mr. Honky next door.

It is true that a large group of minorities voted for bush but, when it comes down to it, the
majority, in every minority group that I have seen anyway, ended up going for Kerry. In fact, I think that is quite important to point out that 88% of all of those who voted for bush were white. It is somewhat humbling to see that figure as it underscores the very real fact that white people still control this country. Many people's decisions are already made for them before they can choose-- destinies left in the hands of those in this one very powerful group. What's even more frightening is the fact that, increasingly, the shots are being called by hillbillys that think that the world is going to end in a couple of weeks.

I don't mean to be hatin' on white people-- anybody who knows me knows that I don't hate white people. However, I'm not blind either. I see that white privilege is still a very real thing. I see that a white man with a drug conviction is more likely to be called back for a second interview than a Black or Latino man (with equal qualifications by the way) with no drug conviction at all. I guess what bothers me most is that a lot of people within this group don't even think that this privilege exists... that it is merely a myth. I remember being in a college class in which this topic was being discussed where a student tried to compare the fact that her blonde hair stereotyped her as dumb with the oppression of ethnic minorities.

But, you know, who can blame them? If I had the advantage of white privilege I might want to keep it too.

So, are there good white people? Of course. I, seriously love a lot of white people. In fact, some of my best friends are white ( hey, that sounds familiar :) However, that doesn't keep me from wondering how many out there (not my friends) are all for the underprivileged until you try to take their privilege away, ya know? Then, is it a whole different story?


Anyhow, back to what I was originally saying-- when I am hooked on crack and offering my "services" on Motel Drive, you can guess which fair-skinned people my besoiled finger will be pointing to.

----------------------------------------

wow, I went off on a bit of a tangent there and it is most likely a moot point since I am now fairly confident that this election was stolen just like the last one : ) but hey, is it, in fact, a moot point if rich, white, middle-aged men engineered this heist? :)

thanks to George from CVPPAC and Sean for the last link

Monday, November 08, 2004

Lovely


AP Photo

Since we are on the topic, I must say that I was very disappointed, way back, when many in the black community/church-- and especially Jesse Jackson-- came out against gay marriage and were offended that some were calling it an issue of civil rights and even comparing it to the movement of the 60's. I mean, yes, historically, black people have been treated the worst of any group within this country and are still largely disenfranchised. I think that no one would deny that. The black civil rights movement was huge-- in it's scope and in the doors that it opened... it continues to inspire me... but this isn't something that should be measured in degree, should it? Shouldn't it be measured by the fact that a group is being discriminated against... period... no matter the degree?

timesunion.com article

Saturday, November 06, 2004

I'm An Elections Know-It-All

Admittedly, the questions are rather simple but, nonetheless, I got 100% on both sections.

ARE YOU AN ELECTIONS KNOW-IT-ALL?

Thursday, November 04, 2004

She Cares

awww

Lil' Kim Cares

this will be the last entry I make on Lil' Kim for a "long-tooth-time", I swear.

And so she went...

Lessons in Lil’ Kim

Wednesday, November 03, 2004

It has taken the events of the last day or so for my favorite blogger to wake from his slumber but, alas, he has... albeit briefly... I wonder if he'll ever really comeback to his weblog... not just twice a year. I hope he does. He's the best one.
I'm with you on this one sturtle!

On A Lighter Note...

I was going to say that I wish I could have taken this class but the fact is that I should be teaching it, dammit! :)

Lil' Kim to talk to Syracuse University class


I Turn My T.V. On With A Fork

It's true. I adjust my volume with it as well. It is important to use the flat end of the fork and not the end that one eats off of. Since it is a 15/16 year old television that was made in a much different era, it came without a remote control. However, through my ingenuity, I've managed to work around this troublesome aspect that plagued the televisions of yore. Because I have hooked-up a v.c.r. to it, I am able to change the channels through the v.c.r. remote control. Clever- I know, I know.

Where does the fork come in? Well, being that it is such an old television, the buttons that it came with have long fallen off. Hence, the fork... 'cause you need to get in there... if you know what I mean. My fingers don't fit. I've tried. I should mention that besides the fact that these defects exist, I am quite reluctant to replace it. I could easily get a new one but, besides the fork thing, it works perfectly fine and has one of the loveliest pictures I have ever seen on a non-hi-definition T.V... not to mention the sentimental attachment I've developed towards it. Besides, it is yet more proof and serves as a constant reminder that I continue on a downward spiral into abject trashiness. Trailer Park here I come.

About the election. I, quite seriously, can't think about it or talk about it very much without crying like a small child. So, instead I will paste an excerpt from an e-mail that I sent to a friend:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I oftentimes feel like I wasn't meant for this world and I am definitely feeling that more profoundly today. Dramatic and morose... yes... but I guess that that just happens to be the state that I am in right now. Sure, I'll get over it... maybe... but the fact will remain that a large group of people in this country decided to give another 4 years to an administration that loathes- no hates.. although "to loathe" essentially means the same thing it doesn't seem to have the impact of the word "hate"-- anyhow, it is no secret that this administration hates and is disdainful of gays, minorities, foreigners, working-class and middle-class people, etc etc. but loves money and war

------------------------------------------------------------------------

yeah, don't get me started on the homophobia and hatred underscoring this victory.

"Peace and Love" to all of you out there that were intelligent enough, perceptive enough, and had enough of a social conscience to vote the other way.