Wednesday, November 10, 2004
One More Thing On The Election...
I Blame White People. I am not even sure that I entirely believe this statement but, in life, I have learned that, when in doubt, it is always good to blame those of the "Caucasian persuasion". All of my personal problems-- the white man's fault. Societal Ills, you say? Mr. Honky next door.
It is true that a large group of minorities voted for bush but, when it comes down to it, the majority, in every minority group that I have seen anyway, ended up going for Kerry. In fact, I think that is quite important to point out that 88% of all of those who voted for bush were white. It is somewhat humbling to see that figure as it underscores the very real fact that white people still control this country. Many people's decisions are already made for them before they can choose-- destinies left in the hands of those in this one very powerful group. What's even more frightening is the fact that, increasingly, the shots are being called by hillbillys that think that the world is going to end in a couple of weeks.
I don't mean to be hatin' on white people-- anybody who knows me knows that I don't hate white people. However, I'm not blind either. I see that white privilege is still a very real thing. I see that a white man with a drug conviction is more likely to be called back for a second interview than a Black or Latino man (with equal qualifications by the way) with no drug conviction at all. I guess what bothers me most is that a lot of people within this group don't even think that this privilege exists... that it is merely a myth. I remember being in a college class in which this topic was being discussed where a student tried to compare the fact that her blonde hair stereotyped her as dumb with the oppression of ethnic minorities.
But, you know, who can blame them? If I had the advantage of white privilege I might want to keep it too.
So, are there good white people? Of course. I, seriously love a lot of white people. In fact, some of my best friends are white ( hey, that sounds familiar :) However, that doesn't keep me from wondering how many out there (not my friends) are all for the underprivileged until you try to take their privilege away, ya know? Then, is it a whole different story?
Anyhow, back to what I was originally saying-- when I am hooked on crack and offering my "services" on Motel Drive, you can guess which fair-skinned people my besoiled finger will be pointing to.
----------------------------------------
wow, I went off on a bit of a tangent there and it is most likely a moot point since I am now fairly confident that this election was stolen just like the last one : ) but hey, is it, in fact, a moot point if rich, white, middle-aged men engineered this heist? :)
thanks to George from CVPPAC and Sean for the last link
