Wednesday, November 03, 2004

I Turn My T.V. On With A Fork

It's true. I adjust my volume with it as well. It is important to use the flat end of the fork and not the end that one eats off of. Since it is a 15/16 year old television that was made in a much different era, it came without a remote control. However, through my ingenuity, I've managed to work around this troublesome aspect that plagued the televisions of yore. Because I have hooked-up a v.c.r. to it, I am able to change the channels through the v.c.r. remote control. Clever- I know, I know.

Where does the fork come in? Well, being that it is such an old television, the buttons that it came with have long fallen off. Hence, the fork... 'cause you need to get in there... if you know what I mean. My fingers don't fit. I've tried. I should mention that besides the fact that these defects exist, I am quite reluctant to replace it. I could easily get a new one but, besides the fork thing, it works perfectly fine and has one of the loveliest pictures I have ever seen on a non-hi-definition T.V... not to mention the sentimental attachment I've developed towards it. Besides, it is yet more proof and serves as a constant reminder that I continue on a downward spiral into abject trashiness. Trailer Park here I come.

About the election. I, quite seriously, can't think about it or talk about it very much without crying like a small child. So, instead I will paste an excerpt from an e-mail that I sent to a friend:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I oftentimes feel like I wasn't meant for this world and I am definitely feeling that more profoundly today. Dramatic and morose... yes... but I guess that that just happens to be the state that I am in right now. Sure, I'll get over it... maybe... but the fact will remain that a large group of people in this country decided to give another 4 years to an administration that loathes- no hates.. although "to loathe" essentially means the same thing it doesn't seem to have the impact of the word "hate"-- anyhow, it is no secret that this administration hates and is disdainful of gays, minorities, foreigners, working-class and middle-class people, etc etc. but loves money and war

------------------------------------------------------------------------

yeah, don't get me started on the homophobia and hatred underscoring this victory.

"Peace and Love" to all of you out there that were intelligent enough, perceptive enough, and had enough of a social conscience to vote the other way.